All Hail!


Larry and Mary Margaret McNeill ’60 were recognized by Sandhills Community College, Southern Pines, N.C., for their service to the college since 1968. Larry taught English at Sandhills for more than 30 years.

Charles S. Turner, M.D. ’66, professor emeritus of general surgery-pediatrics in the Division of Surgical Services at Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center, received the Distinguished Faculty Award from Wake Forest School of Medicine.

Ronald L. Gibson ’74, a Charlotte attorney, was sworn in as president-elect of the North Carolina State Bar in October by N.C. Supreme Court Chief Justice Sarah Parker.

Greg Dunn ’75, a partner with Ice Miller, LLC in Columbus, Ohio, was named a “Lawyer of the Year” in Best Lawyers 2014.

Harrison L. Marshall Jr. ’79 will receive the H. Brent McKnight Renaissance Lawyer Award at the 2014 N.C. Bar Association’s annual meeting in recognition of “trustworthiness, respectful and courteous treatment of all people, enthusiasm for intellectual achievement and commitment to excellence….”

Thomas H. Marshburn, M.D. ’82, NASA astronaut who returned from his most recent space mission in May 2013, has received the Distinguished Achievement Award of Wake Forest School of Medicine.

Lee Ann Petty ’01, paralegal team lead for Regions Bank, Birmingham, Ala., was the January recipient of the bank’s Better Life Award. The Better Life Award is the top honor given to a Regions associate for outstanding dedication and job performance, as well as exemplary involvement and commitment to the community.


About Author

Senior Writer John Syme graduated from Davidson with a French degree in 1985. After gigs in newspaper, advertising, translation in France and cross-country travel writing in the United States, he returned to alma mater in 2001. He has no immediate plans to graduate again.

Comments are closed.