All Hail


Bill Bradford ’37 has been awarded the 2012 Lifetime Achievement Award by the Fort Mill, S.C., Area Council of the York County Chamber of Commerce. For 38 years, he was editor and publisher of The Fort Mill Times. He served for many years as school board chairman and later as Fort Mill’s township magistrate. He is author of Out of the Past, a history of Fort Mill.

Jim Vann ’50, Chairman, Rea Magnet Wire, has received the Ankh Award of The Copper Club, Inc. Vann’s honorary “Copper Man of the Year” status recognizes his company leadership at Rea and his service to the copper and electrical manufacturing industries. Rea is North America’s largest manufacturer of wire for electric motors and transformers.

R. Rodney Howell, M.D. ’53, professor of pediatrics and chair emeritus of pediatrics at the University of Miami Leonard M. Miller School of Medicine, has received the March of Dimes’ Col. Harland D. Sanders Lifetime Achievement Award in Genetics. He played a key role in developing the uniform testing panel for serious disorders, with which nearly every baby in the United States is tested.

Daniel Thorp ’76, associate professor of history in the College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences at Virginia Tech University, has received the 2013 William E. Wine Award. Thorp is a campus leader in curriculum development, most recently serving as director of the university’s Curriculum for Liberal Education, and has done pioneering work in digital learning and new media.

Molly McGehee ’97, assistant professor of English at Presbyterian College, has been named one of 20 South Carolina professors honored with the 2013 South Carolina Independent Colleges and Universities Excellence in Teaching Award. McGehee serves as director of Presbyterian’s Southern Studies program and chair of the Multicultural Affairs and Concerns Committee.

Peter Carolla ’06 has received the Best U.S./International Documentary Short Award from the Kansas City FilmFest for his film “The One Who Builds,” about the life and work of Omer Omer, once a Sudanese refugee, now an American citizen and professor who is director of a refugee resettlement organization in Greensboro, N.C. Carolla made the film with his Wake Forest University M.F.A. classmates Hillary Pierce and Nick Gooler.

Clinton Smith ’10 has been awarded the Maryland Humanities Council’s 2013 Christine D. Sarbanes Award. The spoken-word poet and 10th-grade English teacher at Parkdale High School in Riverdale, Md., has procured more than 1,200 books for students through book drives, grants and donations. He taps his network of fellow area writers for workshops so his students can work with experts in their craft who come from the same communities they do.


About Author

Comments are closed.