All Hail: Spring 2013


Charles Wright ’57, one of America’s most celebrated poets, has won Yale’s 2013 Bollingen Prize for American Poetry, which carries a cash award of $150,000.

Preston D. (PD) Miller Jr. ’60
has received
the Gold Medal from the American Academy of
Periodontology for outstanding  contributions to the AAP and the profession of periodontics.

J. Daniel Hanks Jr., M.D. ’65
, a radiologist, has received commendation from the Georgia state legislature for a lifetime of service in medicine, public health, policy education and civic leadership.

John W. Mason ’67, partner at Roberts & Stevens Law Firm in Asheville, N.C., has received the 2012 Centennial Award presented by the 28th Judicial District Bar and N.C. Bar Association, as well as being named a 2013 Lawyer of the Year by The Best Lawyers in America and a WLOS TV Person of the Week.

Lester Abberger ’75
was elected recently as an emeritus member of the board of directors of the Florida Humanities Council, in honor of his longstanding leadership of and service to the council and to the cause of the public humanities nationally.

Ann Clark ’80, deputy superintendent of Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools, has been named with philanthropist Anna Spangler Nelson as a Charlotte Woman of the Year for their work with Project LIFT, a public-private education partnership.

Edward Lindsey ’81, a Republican Georgia state representative from Atlanta and majority whip, has received the Legislative Champion Award from the Georgia Commission on Family Violence.

Minne Iwamoto ’91
, president of the Alumni Board, has been honored with the Women of Distinction Award from the Philadelphia Business Journal.

Amy Oakes ’98, an assistant professor of government, is a 2012 recipient of the annual William & Mary Alumni Association Fellowship Award in honor of teaching excellence.

Jacqueline Musiitwa ’03 has been named one of the 99 most influential foreign policy leaders under the age of 33, or the “99 Under 33,” by the Diplomatic Courier and Young Professionals in Foreign Policy.


About Author

Comments are closed.