All Hail


Bob Patton ’43 has received the Legion of Honor, the highest decoration in France, for his courageous efforts to liberate France from Nazi control during World War II. He earlier received the Bronze Star for meritorious service, and says he is proudest of helping liberate prisoners from concentration camps in Germany and Austria.

R. Rodney Howell, M.D. ’53
, chairman emeritus at the University of Miami’s Leonard M. Miller School of Medicine and chair of the board of directors of the Muscular Dystrophy Association, has received the 2012 American College of Medical Genetics (ACMG) Foundation Lifetime Achievement Award.

Gerald Wilson ’58 has received the Presidential Award for Executive Leadership, given annually to a Duke faculty member. The Pre-Law Advisors National Council also honored him with the establishment of the Dean Gerald Lee Wilson Award for Excellence in Pre- Law Advising.

Fred L. Borch ’76 has been named a Fulbright Scholar for the Netherlands for 2012–13. He will be a visiting professor at the University of Leiden and will teach international law relating to terrorism and counterterrorism. He also will conduct research on Dutch military commissions at the Royal Archives in The Hague.

Larry D. Hardaway ’76 has been awarded the 2012 Heman Marion Sweatt Award by the National Bar Association. Hardaway was the first black president of his high school senior class, is a lifetime member of all area NAACP units, and is current president of the Polk County (Fla.) Voter’s League.

E. Follin Smith ’81 has won the Charles C. Abbott Award, the highest alumni award of the Darden School of Business at the University of Virginia.


About Author

Comments are closed.