The Dean’s List


Associate Professor of Physics Mario Belloni received the John L. Hubisz Award for Outstanding Service
to the Section at the fall 2009 meeting of the North Carolina Section of the American Association of Physics Teachers.

Brown Professor of Physics Wolfgang Christian won the 2009 George B. Pegram Award for “Excellence in the
Teaching of Physics in the Southeast,” given by the Southeastern Section of the American Physical Society.

Assistant Professor of History Joe Dennis has received a Profession Culture grant from the Bibliothèque
nationale de France to work this summer on some old Chinese books in their collection.

Associate Professor of Biology Karen Hales was the only representative from a primarily undergraduate institution elected to the North American Fly Board, the governing subgroup within the Genetics Society of America that oversees Drosophila-specific issues.

Thomson Professor of Environmental Studies and Professor of English Annie Ingram is now the inaugural Davidson College holder of the Todd and Melissa Thomson Chair in Environmental Studies.

Associate Professor of Anthropology Fuji Lozada received the prestigious Mellon Foundation “New Directions Fellowship” to support a year of research.

Visiting Assistant Professor of History Michael Meng won the Fritz SternPrize, given annually by the German
Historical Society for the best dissertation on German history or the history of Germans in the U.S. The dissertation, titled “Shattered Spaces: Encountering Jewish Sites in Postwar Germany and Poland,” explores how Germans, Poles, and Jews dealt with Jewish sites in five cities-Warsaw, Wroclaw, Berlin, Essen, and Potsdam-from 1945 to the present.

Professor of English Alan Parker’s poem “Fifteen Ways to Think about Italian Opera” has been awarded first place in the Mid-American Review’s Fineline Competition, “For Prose Poems, Short Shorts, and Everything in Between.”

Craig Family Distinguished Professor Doug Ottati has been elected president of the Society of Christian Ethics, a 1,000-member national organization for American professors of Christian ethics that meets concurrently with the Society for Jewish Ethics and the Society for the Study of Muslim Ethics.

Dickson Professor of Psychology Julio Ramirez has been elected as a Fellow for the American Association for
the Advancement of Science.

Assistant Professor of Biology Sophia Sarafova has received an Education Enhancement Grant from the North Carolina Biotechnology Center, to purchase a flow cytometer for use in the new biochemistry concentration, as well as in other biology courses.

Chair and Professor of Music Jennifer Stasack received a 2009–10 ASCAPLUS Award in the Concert Music Division from the American Society of Composers, Authors & Publishers.

Professor of Biology Mark Stanback has received a grant from the National Fish & Wildlife Foundation’s Wildlife Links program for new research stemming from his prior work on the competition between Eastern Bluebirds
and Brown-headed Nuthatches on golf courses in the Southeast.


About Author

Comments are closed.