All Hail


Ralph M. Holt, Jr. ’53 was honored witha celebration of his 50 years of service to his community’s healthcare, by Alamance (N.C.) Regional Medical Center.

Seddon “Rusty” Goode, Jr. ’54, former chief executive officer of University Research Park, was presented an honorary Doctor of Public Service degree from UNC Charlotte for his career of more than 40 years helping to shape the future of Charlotte.

Charles Wright ’57, a professor of poetry and writing at U.Va. and a twotime winner of the Library of Virginia’s Poetry Award, this year was presented the Library’s Carole Weinstein Poetry Prize ($10,000).

Peter Bondanella ’66, Distinguished Professor Emeritus of comparative literature, film studies, and Italian at Indiana University, has been elected to the European Academy of Sciences and Arts.

Martin Clark ’81, a judge and author in Stuart, Va., won the annual Library of Virginia People’s Choice Award for fiction for his novel The Legal Limit.

Janet Ward Black ’82, principal of Ward Black Law and former president of the N.C. Bar Association, has been presented with its Distinguished Service Award. During her term, Black created the “4ALL” campaign to support free legal services for the needy.

John Hart ’88 won the 2009 Ian Fleming Steel Dagger from The Crime Writers Association and Cactus Television, at Grosvenor House in London.

Kirsten D. Sikkelee ’90 has been named CEO of the YWCA Central Carolinas in Charlotte. Since joining the YWCA in 1994, she has worked in program design, staff development, and campaign fund raising.

Brown James McCallum ’97 was honored with the Distinguished Young Alumni Award by the University of South Carolina School of Medicine, as well as the Oneill Barrett Teaching Excellence Award.

Richmond Blake ’09, Elizabeth Ireland ’07, and Marshall Worsham ’09 were named ODK Foundation Scholars 2009, in a year that saw Davidson claim three of the foundation’s 20 national scholarships.


About Author

Comments are closed.